Bug 1078807

Summary: yast2-installation scripts should rely on wicked, no iproute2
Product: [openSUSE] openSUSE Distribution Reporter: Bernhard Wiedemann <bwiedemann>
Component: YaST2Assignee: YaST Team <yast-internal>
Status: NEW --- QA Contact: Jiri Srain <jsrain>
Severity: Normal    
Priority: P5 - None CC: ancor, bwiedemann, per
Version: Leap 15.0   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: x86-64   
OS: All   
URL: https://trello.com/c/kjcv85ER
Whiteboard:
Found By: Development Services Priority:
Business Priority: Blocker: ---
Marketing QA Status: --- IT Deployment: ---

Description Bernhard Wiedemann 2018-02-01 15:45:55 UTC
yast2-installation does not require iproute2
- maybe it should, because it is using the 'ip' command?

Seen in a serial console output when first booting into a Leap 15.0 install:

/usr/lib/YaST2/startup/common/network.sh: line 50: /sbin/ip: No such file or directory
/usr/lib/YaST2/startup/common/network.sh: line 35: ip: command not found

The machine even has network connectivity through wicked though.
Comment 1 Ancor Gonzalez Sosa 2018-02-02 12:16:40 UTC
After a brief conversation with Michal Filka in IRC, it looks to me like the most reasonable fix would be to use wicked instead of iproute2 in those scripts (is what the rest of YaST does).
Comment 2 Ancor Gonzalez Sosa 2018-02-02 12:25:59 UTC
Added to the YaST Team Scrum backlog to be prioritized together with other tasks
Comment 3 Per Jessen 2018-02-02 13:23:40 UTC
Not sure if this relevamt, but I have installed three leap150 

- office38: full kde desktop on an office system
- test150:  xen guest with server text-only install 
- office99: real hw with server text-only install 

all had iproute2 automatically selected.
Comment 4 Lukas Ocilka 2018-02-02 15:48:17 UTC
FYI, this is where iproute2 is mentioned in the code:

https://github.com/search?q=org%3Ayast+iproute2&type=Code
Comment 5 Lukas Ocilka 2018-02-02 15:50:47 UTC
Bernhard, is this blocking anything?
Yes, there is an error message, but is anything "not working"?
Comment 6 Bernhard Wiedemann 2018-08-02 16:27:43 UTC
I cannot remember... I just thought that if you call it, it might want to use the output in some ways.
Otherwise you could also add a 2>/dev/null to avoid this confusion.


https://github.com/yast/yast-installation/blob/606b9c16f8ee8282b979c152996e74acccd09064/startup/common/network.sh#L24

shows 'ip' used in is_iface_up and in list_ifaces functions